Bulgarian visa & passport requirements

 Bulgarian border (EU)

Bulgarian visa A

Bulgarian visa C

Long term stay certificate

Passports and IDs

Bulgarian visa. Since 1 January 2007 the Republic of Bulgaria has been applying the European Union’s Common Visa Policy. Bulgaria unilaterally applies a visa-free system for holders of valid Schengen visas. They will have the right to enter and reside in the Republic of Bulgaria for a period of no more than three months in any six-month period from the date of the first entry, without needing to have a Bulgarian short-stay visa.

EU nationals are only required to present an evidence of their EU citizenship and identity in order to be admitted to any EU member state. This evidence can take the form of a valid national passport or national identity card. Either is acceptable. EU citizens may stay in Bulgaria for up to 90 days without need to have a visa. For periods longer then 90 days, they need to register with the local police and obtain a legal permit to stay.

A foreigner may enter the Republic of Bulgaria if he/ she is a holder of a regular foreign travel document or another equivalent document as well as a visa if required.

Click here to check if you need a visa in order to enter Bulgaria.

Types of Bulgarian visas

  • Visa A – for airport transfers
  • Visa C – transfers and short term stay in Bulgaria
  • Visa D – for longer stay in Bulgaria (Obligatory personal interview: No exception shall be made from the requirement for a personal interview when applying for a long-stay visa.)


Visa issuing

A foreign citizen wishing to apply for a Bulgarian visa shall hold a regular travel document that meets the following requirements:

  • its validity expires at least 3 months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria or in case of multiple visits – after the last scheduled date of departure from the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria;
  • contains at least 2 blank pages for visa purposes;
  • has been issued within the last 10 years.

Visas are issued by the diplomatic and consular representations of the Republic of Bulgaria.